Breast Conspiracy

bf
Someone told me that the sexualisation of breasts was a dastardly plan, hatched by baby-milk manufacturers, to make nursing mothers self-conscious, and so boost their sales.
I am not comfortable with this theory.
I don’t doubt baby-milk manufacturers would stoop that low. They’ve certainly pulled some disgusting stunts in the past (and seemingly, emerged unscathed).
But there has to be a credible mechanism of action and result, and I can’t see one.
And the timing has to be right. I think the sexualisation of breasts as a social trend is older than baby-milk manufacture. I realise this doesn’t proclude the manufacturers “jumping on the band-wagon” at a later date, but it still weakens the theory.
The link between self-conscious mothers and increased baby-milk sales is weak too. Mothers can (even though it shouldn’t be necessary) feed their babies discreetly.
So, I don’t buy it. Have I missed something? What do you think?

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in baby, baby-milk, conspiracy, conspiracy theory, milk and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Breast Conspiracy

  1. Henry VIII was very fond of tits – so fond he wrote poems about them. But then, maybe the babyfood plot is a long-standing one.

    • micklively says:

      I’m no historian, but I’m guessing they didn’t have formula baby-milk in the sixteenth century. I like tits too. I don’t think this is learnt behaviour, but I could be wrong.
      Many thanks for your feedback.

  2. maameadutwum says:

    Interesting theory. In my native land where most mothers are not completely sold out on the benefits of manufactured milk against breastfeeding, sexualized or not, it is carried out on a large scale and I dare say hardly ever discreetly 🙂

    • micklively says:

      I am ashamed to say that in Britain, there are a vocal few who believe that breast feeding should always be conducted behind closed doors. Fortunately, they are not yet the majority. I cannot think of anything more beautiful than a mother feeding her baby, as nature intended.
      Many thanks for your feedback.

  3. Anna says:

    The sexualization of breasts is definitely older than manufactured milk. But I think you did this post as an excuse to post this photo. 😉

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

