Diet

diet

It seems nearly everyone I know is on a diet. Not just a day-to-day “watch what you eat” kind of diet, but a full-blown, “count every calorie consumed and record on a spread-sheet” diet. I find this tiresome. Eating with friends is one of my favourite pass-times. The experience is marred by constant reference to the calorific value of every mouthful; the calorie trading (if I go without sweet now, I can have a Mars bar later); the exchange of weigh-in results; the bitching about thin people (who don’t have to worry about their weight and can eat anything).
I understand everyone wants to be slim and sexy, me included. I do not believe dieting is a viable route to slimness. That may seem an illogical statement. But I think constant focus, infatuation even, with food is the best way to make yourself hungry. Hunger is more powerful than any diet plan.

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in calorie, diet, eat, food, infatuation, sexy, slim and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Diet

  1. cicelywaspen says:

    My neurotic nausea is so effective I can be insouciant about dieting /:-)

  2. Anna says:

    I stay slim via a plan that is based entirely on boring logic, yet I am fun and eat what I like. The key is that I don’t eat everything all at the same time. I don’t know if it’s an American thing or what, but the trend here is that people don’t seem to know how to pace themselves anymore. They eat everything in the same day or even meal as if there’s about to be a siege.

  3. Arkenaten says:

    You have friends? 🙂 I am impressed! lol

    It is all about ‘fuel’. If you don’t burn the equivalent of what you put in then …”Yippee, here comes fatty.” ( I know how easy it is to gain a few pounds and I used to run marathons etc every week)
    You have to exercise.
    And as we get older we tend to naturally become more sedentary and our metabolism slows down too.
    Buy running/walking shoes and get out there. Best thing.

    • micklively says:

      My joints would never cope with running, and swimming is just too boring, but I’m trying to get into walking. There are lots of picturesque places to go in Lincolnshire, so I have no excuse really.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

