Care By Numbers

Waitress

My wife’s auntie took us out for Sunday lunch. She chose a Toby Carvery. The food was edible, without being special in any way. The service was adequate, again without being special. We were greeted as we arrived, and saluted as we left, with utter disinterest. Our waitress made all of the correct enquiries, but never convinced me that she was listening to our replies. All was wooden and scripted.
I took time to complete Toby’s on-line feedback questionnaire. “Genuine” appeared a number of times within the questions. This reminded me of “painting by numbers” kits: “you can produce genuine art by colouring numbered squares”. Art by numbers is as worthwhile as scripted customer care. Saying the words is not the same as caring.

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in care, customer, eat, eating out, food, lunch, questionnaire, restaurant, Sunday, waitress and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Care By Numbers

  1. mistress4u says:

    Mick. I’m glad it was your aunt in law whisking you away to such a place. For me, it was someone else and all I can say like the food he was bland, I visited both a few times but like the workers I lost my interest.
    Your right, words that are scripted never pore into our deepest veins and make us feel valued (or otherwise).
    If we are to think of our neughbouring countries ( across the sea, eat snails) they are trained to the highest degree in customer care. Fortunately me always a great experience.
    Your post makes me wonder if this is what we as a human race are, another number like that serving table…..
    What I’m curious about, will you return?

    • micklively says:

      Not by choice. Toby wouldn’t have been my choice in the first place. I will always avoid “chain” establishments, where possible. Family run or owner occupier places are far better.
      Many thanks for your feedback.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

