Déjà Vu All Over Again

FREE GIFT

I have a bee in my bonnet. I’m griping over pleonasms. Superfluous words are bugging me. It seems every document I pick up is riddled with them.

“Tuna Fish”: I think all tuna are fish.
“You know yourself how…”: can you know as someone else?
“With her own eyes”: only eyes she has use of.
“End result”: as opposed to “beginning result” presumably?
“Invited guests”: because we want to make clear that we did not invite the interlopers?

English is a wonderful language: rich, diverse, flexible and practical. Have a browse and see how many pleonasms you can find around you.
(But no checking my blogs 😉 )

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in English, gripe, pleonasm, superfluous, word, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Déjà Vu All Over Again

  1. cicelywaspen says:

    Will you accept a late entry? I wish I’d prepared this earlier, rather than next week. The organisation/business/racket formerly known as Lloyds TSB Cheltenham & Gloucester Uncle Bob & Jemima (Scotland) has written to me several times about some terribly exciting news: it’s been told naughty, naughty, monopoly schmaughty so it’s splitting like a flesh-eating bacterium (no allusion). The bit I’ve been lumped with will be called… TSB Bank. Already wasting my precious investments on superfluous ink. If I receive any sort of notice of a new PIN Number, may I refer them to you? It brings tears to my eyes, as well as my teeth.

  2. I saw one yesterday…… It read, The ATM machine.

  3. Arkenaten says:

    I cheated…it’s more fun.
    http://www.pleonasms.com/

    I like this one especially.
    Annual anniversary.
    Isn’t that a corker!

  4. Kinda like but not really, when you buy some chips and the clerk asks if you’d like a bag with that. They’re already in a bag. I know, I know, but it’s funny.

  5. My like button is on the fritz…again

  6. This is certainly a fun exercise that could make me more neurotic than I already am but you’re right…there are plenty of pleonasms in our midst.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

