Syria

syria3

I wonder how the world will view the present mess in a hundred years’ time, when they’re writing the history books?
Will they be writing about an unprecedented use of chemical weapons, prompting a principled stance, on behalf of a defenceless people? I don’t think so.
More likely, they will be talking about another instance in pattern of exported cold war, where dictatorships are created for and sustained by the world’s major powers. “Our despots may do as they wish, but yours must abide by international law.”

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in Arab Spring, history, Middle East, Syria, terrorism, war and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Syria

  1. I’m reading this grateful that you wrote it. I penned something I’m almost afraid to post. I’m told I’m appreciated for my humor so why am I pontificating on serious events. I dunno, consciousness? I can’t bear what’s happening over there. The last thing I am is a warmonger and coincidentally I’m reading about the onset of England’s war with Germany in 1939? Bullies, dictators, present day Hitlers need to be nipped in the bud. That photo you ran tells all.

    • micklively says:

      Good humour is driven by real events. No-one has the right to tell you what you can or cannot write.
      Your reference to the 1930s is an interesting one. There is a theory that, had the world powers smashed the fascists in Spain, WWII would never have happened. I doubt the same is true for Syria, but it is something else to consider. We knew we didn’t want Hitler, but the alternatives (Stalin?) were equally unsavoury. Al-Bassad was supposed to be one of the good guys.
      Many thanks for your feedback Susannah.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

