Won’t Get Fooled Again

coffee
Saturday morning is my happiest time of the week. I was sitting in my favourite Italian restaurant, partaking of a full English, washed down with a cappuccino, feeling laid-back and at one with the world. I was also making good progress with the prize crossword: another boost to my mood.
The music playing on the radio was very much to my taste. We’d already had songs from James Taylor, Al Green, George Harrison.
Then The Who came on and spoilt it all. Don’t get me wrong: I like both The Who and their song “Won’t Get Fooled Again”. But the message brought me back to earth with a mighty bump, because we did get fooled again, many times. And there’s little sign of anything changing for the good. All that enthusiasm, hope, and optimism I had in 1971: what became of it? Was I naive to believe I would ever see peace in my lifetime? It certainly seems so.

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in breakfast, depression, history, life, morning, peace, sadness, war and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Won’t Get Fooled Again

  1. Arkenaten says:

    “Meet the new boss…same as the old boss….”

    One wonders what it will take before we are able to go through a single generation without the need to have a war or develop some sort of weapon with the sole purpose of annihilating our species and yet have the effrontery to claim we need it for peace?

    Insanity is…..

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

