Spend £1.2 Billion?

stonehenge

It’s a lot of years since I was last at Stonehenge but I have quite fond memories of my visit. I think it is a national treasure worthy of preservation. I hear tell there are plans to put the trunk road that passes it into a tunnel so as to reduce noise and pollution at a cost to the taxpayer of £1.2 billion. This makes little sense to me. If the problem really is pollution and noise, as stated, why not construct a canopy over the road instead? It has to be a lot cheaper than digging a tunnel.

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in Britain, politics, U.K. and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spend £1.2 Billion?

  1. How distressing…not wanting to protect it a all costs. I remember the time I got to see it…I was so floored by it’s allure and beauty. It was so long ago…the year Elvis Presley died.

    • micklively says:

      My, that is a long time ago. I’m all in favour of protecting it but not of wasting money. There are many other deserving causes. Thanks for your feedback.

  2. Arkenaten says:

    What sort of canopy are you talking about, Mick?

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

