The Stump

My Friday Fictioneers entry (100 words):
frost-on-a-stump

I hadn’t cried since childhood, but I sat down like an old sack of horse carrots in the frosty grass and wailed, brayed at the moon; an abattoir animal. I lost so much! All that promise and expectation; my life was going to be so good; my plans sparkled. People respected me; looked up to me; wanted to be associated with everything I did; hangers-on, groupies, beautiful girls.
The stump says it all: useless; to be avoided, left to rot; a nuisance; a thing “in the way” of more important stuff, better-off dead.
I contracted meningitis and suffered an amputation.

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in competition, fiction, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Stump

  1. Sandra says:

    Chiller last line. Well done.

  2. It makes me think of when we put all our “bets” on certain attributes to our physical characteristics, we will be sorely disappointed. I like that word abattoir. Is it pronounced, ab-a-twor? Very emotional story. I enjoyed reading it.

    • micklively says:

      Many thanks PJ.
      I put the pronunciation as a-ba-twahr but I’m saying it with an English Midland accent so who knows? 😉
      There was so much I wanted to say in this piece, which made the word limit all the more painful. The emotional investment in physical characteristics you mention was one aspect; also sudden grief, long suppressed, triggered in an unexpected manner; bitterness from unfulfilled aspirations; despair from random and undeserved tragedy; exhaustion from “putting on a brave face”. I am really dissatisfied with the last sentence.

      • I think all of these emotions did come through in your story. It was a very emotional and powerful piece of writing. I don’t know why you are unhappy with the last sentence, but it seems to me that it is needed so people understand why he is so emotional. Excellent story!

  3. I like that word too…you don’t even read it in books that often. Stump certainly has a point of view. Nice the captain of FF wrote to you. She seems awfully nice. Not easy to be stirring in 100 words or less Mickster.

  4. Dear Micklively,

    You left me wondering if he was an athlete or perhaps a dancer. Good use of the stump and I learned a new word, ‘abattoir.’ Thank you.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    • micklively says:

      Many thanks for your feedback. Yes, I think I had in mind someone athletic and, maybe more importantly, someone whose own worth was measured in terms of his physical or sporting prowess.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

