Catwalk

Every Friday authors from around the world gather here to share their 100-words and offer constructive crit and encouragement to each other. This creates a wonderful opportunity for free reading of very fresh fiction! Readers are encouraged to comment as well.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/friday-fictioneers-2/

door

There was a catwalk across the carpark. After the warehouse was demolished, it was still a door-sized hole, so we filled it with a door. We used to joke about inviting undesirables to use the tradesman’s entrance. “Mind the step!”
After the riots, my head was all over the place. A night in a cell, then the copper let me go. “I could charge you with wasting police time, but that would just be more shit I don’t have time to do.” I think he understood me: I can’t imagine how. “You can’t solve the world’s problems. You didn’t kill anyone.”

PHOTO PROMPT © Lauren Moscato

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in fiction, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Catwalk

  1. Good line about the possible use of the door. Creative idea and good dialogue. Well done, Mick. 🙂 — Suzanne

  2. So that’s the reason the door is there like that. Makes sense to me!

  3. rogershipp says:

    Love the last two lines!

  4. I like the explanation for the door, Mick. Nice job.

  5. milliethom says:

    Definitely intriguing, Mickey, to say the least, and you have aptly named that door leading to nowhere as a tradesman’s entrance – or any other undesirable that happens to try his/her luck. There seems to be much going on between the lines in the second half than is revealed, but the last couple of lines sum things up nicely.

  6. Very intriguing and well-written story but I didn’t quite get it until I read your comment above. I always feel free to exceed the 100 word limit if necessary and I haven’t been yelled at yet. Consider it (within reason) if necessary.

  7. I enjoyed this. I particularly liked your explanation of the door without steps. A fun piece.

  8. plaridel says:

    it’s always inviting to see what’s behind a door. as always, curiousity will kill a cat or anybody for that matter.

  9. Nan Falkner says:

    Dear Mick, You are so clever and this made me laugh out loud! Well done! Nan

  10. draliman says:

    That would be a useful way to get rid of undesirables!

  11. Jan Brown says:

    I like your explanation for the door, and its suggested use 😀

    As to the rest of the story, i.e., what he did to get incarcerated (and released), I didn’t follow till I read your explanation in the comments.

    It’s so hard to write a complete story in 100 words!

  12. Francesca Smith says:

    A very intriguing story here!
    Those last few lines are interesting.

  13. gahlearner says:

    This is an intriguing story. A door like this has its uses at times.

  14. I’m feeling very dense today. I couldn’t get from point A to point B but I do like a puzzle.

    • micklively says:

      I’m not surprised you struggled. I was trying to explain what had happened when I ran out of words. One hundred sounds like a lot but, rather like going Christmas shopping with one hundred pounds in your wallet, you find you’ve spent up with presents still to buy.
      I my head, the narrator is depressive and traumatised by the riots and blames himself for the carnage. His outlet for this is to confess to a crime he did not commit (indeed, one that did not take place).
      Explaining exterior to my word allotment seems like cheating to me but I can’t think how else to answer?
      Many thanks for your feedback.

  15. You’re so very good at this. The spare response. Loved your dialogue, it’s very American rather than Brit. I’ve met those people 🙂

  16. k rawson says:

    A door like that could come in handy. Nice take on the prompt!

  17. ansumani says:

    Nice take on the prompt…the last line ties the main character to the neighbourhood ….

  18. Sandra says:

    Clever take on the prompt. I like the sound of a door-sized hole for undesirable tradesmen.

  19. This week, our area lost a firefighter who fell through a doorway, an old elevator shaft behind a standard door. He didn’t know…. This picture and your story hit home today. Thank you for writing such a powerful write.

  20. There is a double-sword quality to your story, with that liberating last line. But can we take the easy way out? Good story.

  21. Dear Mick,

    Your last line says it all. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  22. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Mick,

    Sounds like more Social Darwinism if you ask me. i like how this worked out to the good for everyone…well, almost everyone. Well done.

    Aloha,

    Doug

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

