Bad News

Every Friday authors from around the world gather here to share their 100-words and offer constructive crit and encouragement to each other. This creates a wonderful opportunity for free reading of very fresh fiction! Readers are encouraged to comment as well.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/friday-fictioneers-2/

snow

Of course, we are supposedly set up to cope with bad weather, atop the mountain. I don’t know why we’ve lost all power and communications. Five telescopes, seventeen staff in all, totally incommunicado from the rest of the world on the one day they really need to hear from us. Well, maybe. Perhaps it is better, in the long run, that folk don’t know. There would be panic and distress. There is nothing anyone can do about the situation. We have an hour ‘til impact. When the meteor strikes, only we seventeen will not be surprised. (96 words)

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in fiction, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

78 Responses to Bad News

  1. I’ve often wondered what it would be like to know something like this… really well done!

  2. IB Arora says:

    good, except seventeen no one will know what hit them

  3. Taygibay says:

    One drawback to that story : the meteor would have been spotted long before!
    I’m really sorry to be so sharp on that realistic detail for the rest of the story although thus unbelievable pleased the non rational part in me as much as it did all others above.
    I guess it could be changed to a UFO to fix that discrepancy.

    So no like but still very much appreciated.
    If you then find it best not to approve this comment, I’ll understand fully.

    Have a great week, Mick, sorry for the disturbance, Tay.

    • micklively says:

      I believe you’re quite correct with the timing thing. Am I not allowed a little artistic licence?
      I do the same thing. I saw a drama on the BBC that had swallows in December. I could not get past it; nearly drove my missus daft.
      As for not approving your comment: never! I want to hear all sides, even those I don’t agree with.
      Many thanks for your feedback Tay.

  4. gahlearner says:

    I add my voice to all the others who say that this is just the beginning of a good story. Where did that thing come from so sudden? What happens after impact? How big is it? How… what… where… LOL, sorry, don’t mind me. Great story.

    • micklively says:

      In my imagination, utter devastation and only the cockroaches left. But, as ever with FF, the reader is left to write most of it for him/herself.
      Many thanks for your feedback.

  5. afairymind says:

    They’re going to have a very long hour! I think I’d rather not know in circumstances like that. Its very strange that all of their communications equipment has suddenly stopped working – almost as if someone, or something, has disabled it… Great story. 🙂

  6. milliethom says:

    As other commenters, I’d rather not know if this were about to happen. I can’t imagine how people would spend that last hour. Very well written.

  7. Not knowing is probably much better than knowing.

  8. The story is bleak, but not the feel of the narrator. Nicely done! I just joined this challenge and am interested to see how others approach it. 🙂

    • micklively says:

      Last week’s photo caused an amazing diversity of interpretation. This may have been because many did not recognise Mauna Kea. I knew immediately what it was because of my interest in astronomy. I’m still not sure whether that was a blessing or a curse?
      Many thanks for your feedback Lorna.

  9. Mike says:

    I think I’d rather not know. It’s going to be a long hour for those 17.
    Great story.

  10. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Mick,

    A great story for the prompt. I’ve imagined an extinction event asteroid hitting the Pacific a few miles over the horizon and thought about our view from up here (where I’m writing from now). Even 13,796 feet wouldn’t help. Sure would be something, though.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  11. rgayer55 says:

    The question that begs to be asked is, “How are they going to spend that hour?”
    Praying, or screwing like rabbits?

  12. Margaret says:

    Chilling news in a chilling setting. The matter of fact tone is just right – there’s nothing they can do but accept their fate.

  13. plaridel says:

    who knows? aliens may come to rescue mankind.

  14. wmqcolby says:

    Hi, Mick! At least it will be warmer for a little while once the asteroid hits.

  15. BrainRants says:

    To announce or not to announce… ’tis the question here.

  16. I hope you will be saved. At least you have time to get ready to meet your maker. Or drink all the single malt whisky.

  17. draliman says:

    Yep, probably better not knowing if that’s all the time we have left. Great story!

  18. phylor says:

    Great story with a heart-stopping ending.
    As I’m reading this @ 3:30 am on the 23rd, I guess the meteoroid must have gone off course.
    That’s the question — to know or not know. Wonder what the scientists did in their last hour?

  19. storydivamg says:

    Good work on this, Mick. I’m glad I stopped along to read.

    Cheers!
    MG

  20. I went to the end of the world with this one too. I liked your dystopian take on the prompt.

  21. Ugh.Been nice knowing you.
    Thanks for the cheery little ditty.
    Randy

  22. Nicole says:

    Definitely bad news… better not to know! I’d have to agree.

  23. Good job. You’ve managed to say a whole lot in your 96 words. And I like the feel of the scientists taking it all in stride, so to speak. Sort of like: ‘It’s all in a days work.’ OR ‘Those are the hazards of the job.’

  24. ansumani says:

    I read it a bit differently…as if the astronomers don’t care about the impact to the world…such indifference may come from gazing too much at the stars. Nicely done.

  25. The relaxed feeling of this piece is strangely unexpected and I like that.
    Live this day as if it’s your last,
    Tracey

  26. I think you are right . better not to know.. imminent apocalypse can be quite distressing

  27. Dale says:

    Nice job, Mick… Now to get to mine… 😉

  28. It’s just as well the people don’t know. I like your take on the prompt.

  29. Great story Mick. We recently watched a film where everyone knew the end of the world was about to happen. I think you are right that it is good that your astronomers couldn’t communicate the impending doom.

  30. Actually, it sounds like a lead-in to a movie. I guess that’s why I didn’t think it odd that someone who probably died would be narrating. It could be a longer story where only that person and a few others survive somehow. Don’t ask me how. Movies take artistic license also. Well done Mick. 🙂 — Suzanne

  31. MrBinks says:

    Like Claire, I really enjoyed the calmness of this. Nice job!

  32. I love how calmly this is written. Obviously a narrator who isn’t given to panic. Great idea for a story.

    • micklively says:

      When your life is spent looking at light that started its journey billions of years ago, panic seems so unnecessary.
      Many thanks Claire.

  33. Sandra says:

    I wonder whether this was written from beyond the grave or whether they actually survived. Good take.

    • micklively says:

      That thought crossed my mind after I’d posted it. Where is the narrator? I’m allowing myself a little artistic licence.
      Many thanks Sandra.

  34. One wonders what would be better, to know or to be oblivious? Great story.

  35. Dear Mick,

    That is bad news. Good story, though.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

