Free Drink

Every Friday authors from around the world gather here to share their 100-words and offer constructive crit and encouragement to each other. This creates a wonderful opportunity for free reading of very fresh fiction! Readers are encouraged to comment as well.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/friday-fictioneers-2/

tap

Everybody knew Kenny liked a drink. His workmates used to rag him about his alcohol intake, though they were not “adverse to a drop” themselves. Bill and Joey particularly had an eye for any opportunity to “requisition” any unattended booze shipments that came through the warehouse.

They’d been guzzling regularly, lunch-breaks and evenings, from a stolen vat, when a zoology professor showed up, unannounced, from the university, demanding to know what had happened to his consignment. After much faux scratching of heads and searching, the vat was “discovered”. The professor unlocked the lid and revealed a partially dissected male chimpanzee. (100)

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in fiction, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Free Drink

  1. Jan Brown says:

    Just catching up on your blog from last week. My reaction is:

    Ewwwww!

    What a great twist ending!

  2. Kathy Waller says:

    I am so glad I never went to any of the parties the biology department had.

  3. That was a great surprise ending, Mick. I can see it, which is good for you, but really not for me. Yuch. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  4. Margaret says:

    Oh, dear. Not a nice surprise. Fun ending – I feel sorry for the thirsty trio.

  5. McGuffy Ann says:

    A most unexpected twist! Well done, though a bit yucky!

  6. Alice Audrey says:

    OMG! Morbidly funny.

  7. Amy Reese says:

    Oh yuck! That’ll teach ’em. Good one, Mick.

  8. Gag, I guess those two are really pickled now.
    Tracey

  9. Sandra says:

    OMG! Too gross for words.

  10. rgayer55 says:

    It left me singing, “Great green gobs of greasy, grimy gopher guts, mutilated monkey meat, little birdies dirty feet. French fried eyeballs smothered in a can of blood, and me without my spoon.”

  11. Should file this one under “Appetite Suppressants.” Vile and very funny.

  12. plaridel says:

    no harm done, i guess. there was a saying, you’re what you eat. in this case, they became what they drank. 🙂

  13. draliman says:

    I’ve heard of a worm in tequila, but… 🙂

  14. subroto says:

    I presume they turned teetotallers after this. Would never ape that act. Flavoursome story.

  15. Dave says:

    Methyl alcohol is rather unmistakeable, and no one sane would drink formaldehyde. But then, any sort of monkey-juice is pretty damned ooky, I imagine. Poisoning will kill them, if the embarrassment doesn’t do the job.

  16. As others have already said, yuk! Great story though.

  17. Solothefirst says:

    Ewwwwwwwwwwwwww

  18. Wow, they apparently will drink anything. I kept waiting for them to die from alcohol poisoning, even if they were lucky enough for it to be ethyl alcohol. But as the other commenters said, yes, pretty gross. 🙂
    -David

  19. Oh gross! Pickled chimp juice!!!! These guys did not have very discerning palates.

  20. Donna says:

    Gross but I guess when you like the drink it really doesn’t matter. LOL

    • micklively says:

      I don’t know Donna. I like a drink but I think I’d baulk at having folk think I drank formaldehyde!
      Many thanks for your feedback.

  21. gahlearner says:

    I love stories that make me exclaim and LOL in the end, and this was one of them. Wonderful(ly gross).

  22. ansumani says:

    LOL! What an appropriate punishment they gave themselves. Fun read.

  23. That’s probably the last time things go missing from that warehouse. Nicely done.

  24. That sounds like a spicy drink.. I would veto that vat.

  25. Ewww that’s a little gross. Great story! Big surprise at the end 🙂

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

