Recycle

Every Friday authors from around the world gather here to share their 100-words and offer constructive crit and encouragement to each other. This creates a wonderful opportunity for free reading of very fresh fiction! Readers are encouraged to comment as well.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/friday-fictioneers-2/

tower

The old mine entrance had collapsed behind us. The dust had settled and Eric was in a flap. No-one knew we were down here. We would be incarcerated for all time. Calm I said. All is well. There are several vents above, protected by concrete towers. We will have a lot of ladders to climb up but there is another way out. So we traipsed through the mine and climbed. It wasnโ€™t until we got to the top and found it blocked, that I remembered the farm had cast concrete floors and turned the towers into grain hoppers. (99)

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in danger, death, fiction, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

65 Responses to Recycle

  1. MissTiffany says:

    Oh my gosh, that would be awful! I would hate to buried alive.

  2. Margaret says:

    Oh no, dashed hopes! I wanted them to get out. Great work, Mick.

  3. Dale says:

    Ach! Nothing worse than a “sure thing” that turns into a “not gonna happen”.
    Dire.

  4. afairymind says:

    Now’s the time for them to start panicking! Good story. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Oh goodness..quite a cliffhanger ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. rgayer55 says:

    When this happens, it’s time to put your head between your legs and kiss your ass goodbye.

  7. I hate when that happens. Nice tension.
    T

  8. McGuffy Ann says:

    I really like this. Great twist to a well written story!

  9. Oliana says:

    And this is the part you can add one last sentence…and then he woke up. What a scary experience!

  10. plaridel says:

    can they call 911?

    • micklively says:

      I don’t know. Would they get a signal down a mine? Are they in the USA? Did they take a phone? Don’t ask me: I’m only the author.
      Many thanks for your feedback.

  11. storydivamg says:

    Good action that moves the story along.

    All my best,
    MG

  12. IB Arora says:

    quite a nightmare but often a reality

  13. livingonchi says:

    Oh I hope they get saved…

  14. Jan Brown says:

    Oh, damn! I agree with the commenter who said this is the stuff nightmares are made of. Actually, my nightmares are a bit tamer than this. Your imagination is quite lively–and dark!

    • micklively says:

      Oh, is it? That’s worrisome. I’m quite a happy-go-lucky kind of guy, until I’m confronted with a prompt picture. Then all I’ve got is death and destruction. Let’s blame Rochelle! ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Thanks Jan.

  15. Buried alive! Very Poesque.

  16. draliman says:

    All those ladders for nothing. Maybe they can try to dig their way out of the mine entrance. At least that would give them something to do, and maybe some short-lived hope.

  17. I’m trying to imagine what people would do when all hope disappears? Great story.

  18. This was right up your alley. Can see you there.

  19. These are turning out to be towers of doom. Loved the fading of optimism and I have blackboard shivers of the thought of clawing through the concrete.

  20. Gee, I hate when all that optimism is wasted! Great story. I was so hopeful…

  21. That’s a terrible moment, when you realize the last hope is gone. Reminds me of Injun Joe, getting trapped in the cave in Tom Sawyer. You left it open-ended, so hopefully they can find a way out later.
    -David

  22. A sad end (I assume). That’s like a terrible dream. Bravo.

  23. ansumani says:

    This is the stuff nightmares are made of….Well done story. Its sad to realize that it was/is the fate of many miners.

  24. gahlearner says:

    Being trapped like that–what a horrible fate. I liked the calm and hopeful approach of the MC, even though it was in vain.

  25. I’ve come over all claustrophobic!
    Rosey Pinkerton

  26. I guess getting through concrete scratching with your fingertips does not help.

  27. Creepy story!! That’s not a place I ever want to be.

  28. Nicely done, although not too many chuckles.
    AnElephant likes this.

  29. Dear Mick,

    Your MC sounded so hopeful. I felt his despair at the end. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

