Scale

Every Friday authors from around the world gather here to share their 100-words and offer constructive crit and encouragement to each other. This creates a wonderful opportunity for free reading of very fresh fiction! Readers are encouraged to comment as well.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/friday-fictioneers-2/

leaf

It’s just a question of scale. Folk spent hundreds of years seeking extra-terrestrial life in the reaches of what we used to call outer-space when, all along, it was right under our noses, and we were right under theirs.
They knew that the solar system had resemblance to the structure of the atom, but no one had taken the next logical step. The internal structure of sub-atomic particles is similar again. And what folk used to think of as everything, i.e. the universe, is just a tiny particle in a still greater everything. Everything we can see is insignificant somewhere. (100)

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in fiction, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Scale

  1. rgayer55 says:

    Ha! That’s what I’ve been telling all those women who argue that size matters.

  2. This article kindles my inner darkness. Thanks a lot. http://www.bellofpeace.org

  3. wildbilbo says:

    I just read a book by Frank Herbert where communication between sentient creatures is complex, partly because the vast differences in scale makes common refererences (necessary for understanding) impossible. This reminded me of that.

    Nicely told.You get a lot out of your 100 words.
    KT

  4. Ellespeth says:

    That last sentence is so true. Significance is in the eye of the beholder, I guess.
    Ellespeth

  5. mjlstories says:

    Think my head just exploded trying to get inside this one!
    But apart from the mess I’ll have to clear up, I personally much prefer pieces that tell us we’ve got it all wrong than those that pretend to have all the answers – far more potential in the former! Great stuff.
    PS I think I wrote about scale too this week but somewhat differently.

    • micklively says:

      I’m a scientist. We never pretend to have all the answers, just to ask intelligent questions and challenge the data.
      Many thanks for your feedback.

  6. hjmusk says:

    This is quite thought-provoking, I’ll probably be contemplating it for the rest of the day. Plus, it’s confirmation that my being at work is insignificant.

  7. EagleAye says:

    Awesome! That’s a fantastic way of looking at it. You and I really did approach this one in a similar way. I liked this a lot.

  8. hafong says:

    I do believe we are under each other’s noses!

    Lily

  9. So let me get this right…big, small, tiny, erm…yes!

    Rosey Pinkerton’s blog

  10. draliman says:

    I love the idea behind this. Makes me feel rather small! Great story.

  11. The logic of finding a universe inside every drop of water. Like a Russian doll, you wonder if we are also in that drop of water somewhere

  12. I suddenly feel very small – not a bad thing because I need to lose weight!

    Visit Keith’s Ramblings!

  13. Mick,
    I loved this piece. Beautifully written and a fresh take on the prompt.
    Tracey

  14. ansumani says:

    Here I am thinking that I’m finally becoming someone significant …and you had to pull the plug ;(

    Nice relfections on the scale of matter.

  15. Sandra says:

    An unusual, thoughtful take on the prompt. Well done.

  16. I agree with Rochelle. Love the term scale. You’re really hitting your stride.

  17. storydivamg says:

    Dear Mick,

    It seems you’ve chosen the path of essay rather than story this week in order to bring us some deep thoughts. An old notion but one that still presents as fresh. I think it’s because no matter how many books and movies present it, the idea of an entire world inside an atom or molecule is somehow beyond humanity’s ability to really grasp it–even though the plausibility is there.

    All my best,
    Marie Gal

  18. gahlearner says:

    Great take on the prompt. I’ve been thinking about this, too, wondering if we’re just some miniscule particles in the atoms of a universal creature. Nothing is significant–and everything.

  19. Sonya says:

    Great take on the prompt. I’m afraid considering the bigger picture has gone out of fashion – we’re all our own universe now…

  20. any1mark66 says:

    Nicely done. The small stuff we can’t see tends to be more problematic anyway.

  21. Francesca Smith says:

    A great take on the picture and like what bykimberlylynne wrote, more often than it should, unfortunately, the bigger picture is frequently overlooked.

  22. Makes my head spin with infinity! Great idea for the picture.

  23. So many times we miss the big picture. And the small ones. Nicely done.

  24. Dear Mick,

    An evocative piece. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  25. Everything is relative!

  26. Taking matter down to its smallest scale certainly puts it in perspective or rather its insignificance.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

