Not Particularly Well Documented

The Inkwell’s flash fiction contest Half-hour Challenge is themed “Poison” for June. http://www.theinkwellwriting.com/portal.php

death cert

“Ah, good morning, I didn’t expect to see you today.”
“No doctor, to be honest, I didn’t expect to be here but I was passing, so I thought I’d look in on Mum. How’s she doing?”
“I’m afraid she’s taken a turn for the worse. The practice nurse has just left. I think we’re talking hours rather than days.”
“No! How can that be? She was so much better yesterday. She had colour back in her face; was awake and chatting again.”
“She’s eighty-five. These things are difficult to predict and still more difficult to read. We often see an apparent rallying before death. It’s very common, though not particularly well documented. I think you should go and see you Mum now. As I said, I don’t think she has long.”
“Well, aren’t you going to call an ambulance; take her to hospital; is there nothing you can do?”
“We’ve done all we can for her. You have to accept: she’s very old. No-one goes on for ever.”
“You seem to have written her off!”
“Believe me I know what I’m doing. If I thought hospitalisation would make one jot of difference, I would whisk her in immediately.”
“I didn’t mean to doubt you. I’m sorry Doctor Shipman.”

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Particularly Well Documented

  1. Serial killing has always fascinated me. The motive producing such effort. Liked the flow of this..the brevity yet plump detail.

  2. Arkenaten says:

    Interesting. Believe it or not I do not remember this at all. I rarely read papers or listen to TV news and being out here in SA much European News often passes me by.
    It might sound surprising but if one is not constantly ”tuned in” then so much of this stuff simply does not register.
    I had to Google the full story to see the relevance and now I can understand the context of the piece.
    Creepy!

    • micklively says:

      The bit I can’t get my head around: they reckon he killed 215, yet they say he’s ONE OF the most prolific serial killers in history.
      Thanks Ark.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

