Repeat

Rochelle sets us a one hundred word flash fiction challenge, prompted by a photo, every week.  Come and have a go, if you think you’re bard enough.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

tunnel

Everything about this view seems so innocuous but it is not. It seems I am doomed to repeat the same cycle. Every day I wake on this concrete floor. I rise and walk over the hump at the end and find myself back in the same tunnel. I know it is the same one: if I leave my hanky behind or mark the walls behind me, it is there waiting for me over the hump. Whether I go forward or backward, or how many humps I cross, the result is the same. Then I sleep and repeat, and repeat. (100)

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in dream, fiction, sleep, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Repeat

  1. gahlearner says:

    I never had dreams like this, I don’t think I’d want to sleep if I did. Great story, very nightmarish. Caught in a tunnel in one’s mind.

  2. Amy Reese says:

    What a tough way to go. However will he get past it?! I think it’s something he must conquer within himself, perhaps some kind of fear he must face.

  3. afairymind says:

    What a horrible existence! Great story. 🙂

  4. Margaret says:

    What a nightmare! I like the descriptive details – the hanky, the mark on the wall. I can imagine your character doing these little things to try and deal with his predicament or test its limits. Gripping.

  5. ansumani says:

    Feels like the monotony of everyday life….or a negative cycle one can’t break out of.

  6. How terrifying – dreaming that over and over again, I wouldn’t want to sleep. Maybe this is hell!

  7. rgayer55 says:

    It’s like deja vu all over again.

  8. Dave says:

    Oh dear, someone’s stuck in a rut.

  9. gravadee says:

    Those dreams when you want to wake up and hold Mumma and cry

  10. Dale says:

    God I hate those repetitive dreams!

  11. BrainRants says:

    Perhaps he’s in a circular tunnel… ? Good surrealism in a tight package.

  12. ceayr says:

    Kafkaesque piece, Mick.
    Well done.

  13. Glad it is only a dream.

  14. I hope you don’t really have dreams like this. No more hot sauce for you before you go to bed.

  15. I wrote a story around a similar theme a long time ago.. a scary nightmarish thought.

  16. Sightsnbytes says:

    Groundhog Day in a tunnel, nice!

  17. Vinay Leo R. says:

    Oh no. I can relate to the feeling of being trapped. This piece gave me the chills!

  18. Hellish.Hate the idea; love the story.

  19. uehobbyist says:

    very nice. I have had that dream a thousand times.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

