Blood & Brains

moon-and-sky1

Rochelle sets us a one hundred word flash fiction challenge, prompted by a photo, every week.  Come and have a go, if you think you’re bard enough.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

Sobbing uncontrollably, almost unable to breathe, and staggering as she pulls herself up the bank, Carrie wails “Jimmy, oh Jimmy, thank God you’re here. It’s Dan. Don’t go down there. It’s horrible. His head must be smashed. There’s blood and brains everywhere.” She starts to retch as she falls to her knees.

Jimmy pulls her back to her feet and hugs her. “It’s OK Carrie, Dan’s alright. They’ve taken him to hospital but it’s just a precaution.”

Carrie pushes him to arms-length and stares, incredulous “..but the blood and brains, all over his windscreen!”

“No, it’s OK. He had seatbelt and airbag. That mess was his lunch faggots.”

 


get the InLinkz code

I

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in fiction, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Blood & Brains

  1. Sick sick sick.
    (Bard enough? Lovely.)

  2. Kalpana Solsi says:

    I had to google for faggot and confused the word for maggot. I am a vegetarian and today I learnt a new word.

    A real twist in the end.

  3. Amy Reese says:

    Hmm…this doesn’t make me want to eat faggots…uh ever! Ooh, what a scare. Well done, Mick.

  4. Margaret says:

    And Mr Google must wonder why so many people are suddenly interested in faggots. A fine story, Mick. Great tension and a wonderful twist at the end.

  5. Arkenaten says:

    I had to look it up as well, and I presume you are not referring to a bouquet garni either? 😉

  6. rgayer55 says:

    My mother used to make headcheese (called souse by some) when we’d butcher a hog. It was rather gray looking, but tasty if you added enough of the right spices. I could see it (and/or faggots) being mistaken for brains. Excellent take, Mick.

  7. Ira PT says:

    A twist in the end. Nice Story.

  8. Dear Mick,

    Of course I had to Google Faggots and was not disappointed. I learned something new. 😉 Good story, too.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  9. Excellent story! I loved the turnaround at the ending! Quite dramatic!

  10. SarCou says:

    Another good one! Though why anyone would have faggots for lunch is beyond me! 😀

  11. Love it. A nice twist to something I thought wasn’t going to end well at all 🙂

  12. draliman says:

    Great and amusing twist at the end (and kudos for using a British English word with a very different meaning in America – fortunately the context leaves no room for doubt!).
    Quite a shock for Carrie!

  13. Oh faggots – made me laugh.

  14. From now on, I won’t ever have faggots 😦

  15. mjlstories says:

    Good story!
    Part of the fun of Friday Fiction is translating/misunderstanding the many and varied forms of English we all speak/write.

  16. Never explain yourself. Make us work for it. Now we all know about faggots.
    Tracey

  17. Needed the google for this one as well. I’m happy for Dan that his skull remains intact.

  18. justgraham says:

    Nice! Haven’t had faggots for decades. Very popular in the West Country of England. Mmmm

  19. Sandra says:

    Faggots, maggots… I’ll pass on either. Great take.

  20. ceayr says:

    Good story, Mick, but I was sure that the F-word would cause a problem.
    Most Scots will know what it means, but it is not widely used north of the border.

  21. ansumani says:

    LOL. First i thought you meant maggots…then googled Faggots…now i can understand how ground meat could have looked like brain contents. Good twist at the end there.

  22. gahlearner says:

    LOL, I had to look up the lunch faggots, because I was wondering if he was… a dog? a bird? a monster? But now that I understand: Very funny story.

    • micklively says:

      I was presuming everyone knew what a faggot was. Obviously neither you nor Ansumani so far. Maybe I should rewrite.
      Many thanks.

      • gahlearner says:

        I’m German, that might explain it. I know other meanings of the word, but hadn’t known it in connection with food. Maybe just add a footnote? That should be info enough for us second or third language people.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

