Payback

Rochelle sets us a one hundred word flash fiction challenge, prompted by a photo, every week.  Come and have a go, if you think you’re bard enough.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

bay-windows

Jimmy Mitchell worked long tedious nights at the bakery. Living in a cramped ground floor apartment, in a noisy neighbourhood, made sleeping a real challenge. Jimmy was always tired and cantankerous.
Mrs Gina Zanelli, the retired opera singer, moved into the apartment immediately above. She liked to practice and play her records. Jimmy explained his situation and asked nicely, but Gina was a stiff prima donna and giving nothing. They took to sniping at one-another in the stairwell.
Gina was feeling smug until Sid Snatch, the punk rocker, moved in above her. One man’s ceiling is another man’s floor. (99)

PHOTO PROMPT – © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields


get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in community, fiction, sleep, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Payback

  1. adamjasonp says:

    And now she’ll know what it’s like. Nicely done.

  2. It looks like Gina Zanelli is getting what she gave out.
    The difficulties of living in a building of this type.
    Great story. It flowed well and the character seemed very realistic.
    Isadora 😎

  3. mjlstories says:

    Great story, great characters.
    Makes me grateful for my quiet retired neighbours, across from us in our Victorian semi. I once lived next door to a drummer but he was also a heavy sleeper, so I didn’t even get my own back when I gave birth to my son at home very early one morning!

  4. Loved it. Life is a circle. What goes round, comes round. You get back what you give. “Karma” as Dale said. Music to my ears, so to speak, said the music-sensitive early-rising baker.

    Randy

  5. gahlearner says:

    I love it. And Sid Snitch. And now I can’t get Barcelona out of my had, although that would be unfair to the performers.

  6. Ha! Ha! I have to admit though moving out of NYC to what an old boyfriend would call “West Cupcake” in another state, I find the quiet quite disturbing! I sort of miss the crowded subways and the Peruvian band playing until 3 am kinda sorta…

  7. Shandra says:

    Absolutely love it!!!! I was expecting a missing Fat Lady singer and was pleasantly surprised when the cantankerous hard working Jimmy didn’t need to lift a finger. Revenge is mine, says the Lord. 😉

  8. Dee says:

    Loved this, wondered where we were going, but glad we ended with Paul Simon.

  9. rgayer55 says:

    Ha! Sid Snatch 🙂 I can add much to what’s already been said, so I’ll just say thank you for the smiles.

  10. Melanie says:

    Apartment life can be torturous, depending on the neighbors and their noise level. I hope Jimmy finds some peace. Well told story!

  11. We are battling a woman like this just next door. I hate being brought down to her level. Maybe we should find a punk rocker to move in next door to her. Love your story!

  12. Loved it, very funny. A vicious circle.

  13. Nice one, that karma always gets its own way.

  14. If Gina and Sid get together and form a fusion band, I can’t imaging what will happen to Jimmy? But, you’re right, can’t beat Karma.

  15. LOL. This made me smile. Karma. That is so true unless of course you are on the top floor, Enjoyed the Paul Simon song as well. I hadn’t heard it – or if I had it was lost to me.

  16. Ha, ha, so true, so very true! Well done, made me smile! What goes around comes around!

  17. What comes around, goes around

  18. Dale says:

    Karma, baby, karma! It’s so nice when it comes through soon enough for us to witness it!

  19. jwdwrites says:

    You know what they say; live by the sword…

  20. Sightsnbytes says:

    ain’t it nice when things work out? Nice piece!

  21. elmowrites says:

    Karma is a b*tch. I like how you took us through this one, and a great idea too.

  22. Great story! I can see and “hear” this one! 😀

  23. Graham Lawrence says:

    So many comments already! Always the sign of a good story and it is! Lovely choice of names btw!

  24. Love it. Great names too – so important.

  25. Oh, this made me laugh. Great story!

  26. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Mick,

    I heard this story was good and they were right, but now word has come in that number six is even better. Headed there now.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  27. Dear Mick,

    You’ve started my day with laughter. Gina certainly learned that Karma is a bitch. I love the last line.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  28. Sandra says:

    Oh I loved that punch-line. And the pay-back. Well done, you got us off to a good start here.

  29. tedstrutz says:

    True.

    I’ve not heard that Paul Simon song… Thanks.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

