Rock Gods

railing

Rochelle sets us a one hundred word flash fiction challenge, prompted by a photo, every week.  Come and have a go, if you think you’re bard enough.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

We were destined to be rock gods. We imagined we had everything necessary, apart from the instruments (we didn’t consider talent at any length). There were instruments in the store at school. The solution was obvious: “borrow” school’s.
What seemed such a simple operation in daylight, proved a nightmare after dark. When we heard the janitor coming, we panicked, abandoned the instruments, and ran for the back hedge. The rest of the band got over with minor bumps and scratches. I left more behind than instruments. Any chance of playing music to my children was left dangling on that railing. (100)

 © David Stewart

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in fiction, music, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

66 Responses to Rock Gods

  1. Seems I’ve come a little late to the party. There doesn’t seem much else to say. Boys will be boys- until they’re not anymore. Great job making everyone cringe. Do you think any one will be looking forward to your next story?

  2. Ellespeth says:

    Oh ouchie mamma! Yikes what a last sentence! They had such a great plan, too. I enjoyed this piece.
    Ellespeth

  3. Lynda says:

    Mick, this is so well written, but ouch! 😀
    Your story did take me back to my HS days. Our fence climbing didn’t entail any physical damage…only damaged pride.

  4. Ula says:

    All I can say is ouch. That is a visual that will not leave me any time soon. Great story.

  5. Talk about black humor. Glad that was just a story, Mick. At least I hope so. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  6. Arkenaten says:

    I initially imagined fingers and I notice I was not alone, but your imagination was focused more south.
    Serious ouch!

  7. And that’s how the first castrato voice was born 🙂

  8. A lovely story of wistful nostalgia until… OUCH! that ending made my eyes water!

  9. ceayr says:

    Well built tale, Mick.
    As for the denouement, I think it has all pretty well been said.
    Or screeched.

  10. plaridel says:

    i guess this one didn’t leave on a high note. in an instant, one’s life can change forever indeed.

  11. rgayer55 says:

    Ouch! The punch line had me squeezing my knees together in reflex action. On the up side, he should be able to hit those high notes now.

  12. Melanie says:

    Nice set up and great punch line, though the MC probably wishes it was only a punch. Well done!

  13. Jan Brown says:

    Noooooo! Actually, that might make a good song. Well, maybe not good…popular

  14. Indira says:

    Adventure turned sour but that sour? Great story. Amazing how you can write a full drama in just 100 words.

  15. Oh no poor guy! I too thought it was fingers at first, poor character I can imagine him bleeding for the option of fingers when you wrote him out. Great twist.

  16. draliman says:

    Eek, gruesome last line, I didn’t see that coming! What started as a rather inadvisable outing to fulfil a dream has had life-changing consequences. Great story!

  17. Congratulations Mick, I think you have written the most cringe-worthy last line of the week. Funny stuff though. 🙂 Rock gods without the rocks, it seems.
    -David

  18. Well I am interpreting this as loss of some fingers and not anything lower on the anatomy. Interesting take on the prompt, a teenage rock band.

  19. Francesca Smith says:

    Though others wrote about how it made them cringe, I did not, nevertheless, the thought of leaving behind a part of oneself is not the nicest in the world.

  20. gahlearner says:

    Ouch! Cringing, too. Poor bloke.

  21. Joy Pixley says:

    At first I thought you meant he lost some fingers on the fence (that happened to someone I knew – got his ring caught, ouch). But now… No, come to think of it, I’m going back to the fingers theory. Ouch either way — a heavy price to pay for a moment of bad judgement!

  22. k rawson says:

    Yikes! That would forever change how one felt about playing. Nicely done!

  23. Ridiculous! I liked it anyway.

  24. ansumani says:

    It was funny until the last line “…playing music to my children” hints of an underlying bleakness of the situation. Nicely done.

  25. Oh dear, that plan didn’t work out very well! Probably sings counter-tenor in the choir now!
    Rosey Pinkerton’s blog

  26. Funny, but maybe not so. Well done.

  27. dmmacilroy says:

    Dear Mick,

    From the band to the choir. Some career choices are forced on us. He’ll be, in a way, forever young.

    Great evocation of loss and a smooth punch in the….Never mind. Well aimed.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  28. I’m cringing because you made me laugh and I should be ouching here. Well done. Loved the smile.

  29. Dear Mick,

    I predict a lot of cringing in response to your story. Well done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  30. Sandra says:

    Ouch! I mean, “double ouch”. 🙂

  31. misskzebra says:

    That’s pretty grim!

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

