Tunnel

bridge

Rochelle sets us a one hundred word flash fiction challenge, prompted by a photo, every week.  Come and have a go, if you think you’re bard enough. https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

“Topologically speaking, a bridge and a tunnel are the same thing.”
“Huh? How can that be?”
“It’s only breadth and length that change. A bridge over a river, for instance, is a long bridge for the road but a very short tunnel for the river. Whereas, a canal tunnel under a hill is a very short bridge on the hill (i.e just the width of the canal), but obviously a long tunnel for the canal. Simple really.”
“So is an aqueduct a bridge or tunnel?”
“I think you’re missing the point here.”

PHOTO PROMPT © The Reclining Gentleman

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in fiction, humour, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Tunnel

  1. I used to hate the Holland Tunnel in New York. The thought of being under water was a bit disconcerting. You took this photo prompt into a very unusual place. Hopefully, not a tunnel. : )
    Isadora 😎

    • micklively says:

      I’ve been through the Channel Tunnel a few times and found it quite relaxing though, like you, I found the thought of a sea overhead a little disconcerting.

  2. Margaret says:

    It’s all a matter of perspective – if I’m not missing the point. Thought-provoking story.

  3. I get it, but am not sure I completely get it. A good paradox for me to reread.

  4. I think I’ll just stay on my side of the land mass.
    Randy

  5. BunKaryudo says:

    i’m topologically confused now.

  6. rogershipp says:

    Loved the reasoning… Also… I am like the one you would have brought the aqueduct into the picture…

  7. Amy Reese says:

    I certainly didn’t know this about bridges and tunnels. I prefer the bridge, too. I need my fresh air. Great take, Mick.

  8. Clever and insightful. Love the last line! Thanks for the laugh. 🙂

  9. I just know I prefer a bridge to a tunnel. I don’t like to be underground. Good story and reasoning, Mick. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  10. Sandra says:

    Very profound. I shall confuse my OH with this forthwith. 🙂

  11. mjlstories says:

    Ah yes … In the UK people drive towards you on the right and in the US they drive towards you on the left. Something to do with swords and dominant hands. One person’s tunnel is another’s bridge.

  12. gahlearner says:

    Hehe, ‘you’re missing the point’ is always a nice way out until someone calls you on it. Great dialogue.

  13. Interesting way of looking at things. I have never thought about that before. thanks for helping me think outside the box.

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

