Dogging

carpark

Rochelle hosts a 100 word flash fiction competition each week.  Come and have a go!

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

“Why are you always so bloody miserable? Jeez, it’s like working with the grim reaper!”
“I’m just fed up. I need a girlfriend. I’ve tried internet dating, singles bars, I even went dogging last night. It’s gnawing away at me. No-one ever gives me a second look.”
“You’re trying too hard.”
“That’s easy for you to say. You’ve got Maisy.”
“What happened at dogging?”
“It was pissing down rain. There was no-one there.”
“Do you really want the kind of woman who would go dogging?”
“Yes, yes, yes, yes.”
“I don’t know Johnny. Just be careful what you wish for.” (100)

PHOTO PROMPT -© Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in depression, fiction, love, men, sex, testosterone, women, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Dogging

  1. Great dialogue, Mick. I had to look up the word “dogging.” I didn’t realize it was an activity. Seems either it’s a UK term or I’m not up on recent vocabulary. He seems really desperate. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  2. iamehsan69 says:

    Desperate guy!

  3. Sharp, realistic dialogue, Mick! I’m with Louise, there’s got to be a better way! 😉

  4. I wonder what is wrong with him that he can’t meet the ‘nice’ girls. Great video as well.

  5. gahlearner says:

    What Dale said: the things you learn… Gotta be sorry for the guy though. Loneliness is tough.

  6. Corina says:

    This sounds very realistic. You have the dialogue down! I’d like to read more about these two!

  7. hafong says:

    Very entertaining video! Had to google dogging as well. Thought it meant going to the dog park at first. Ha! Ha! You do meet a lot of people there. 🙂

    Lily

  8. charlypriest says:

    Poor Johnny, a bit desperate. Who knows maybe he finds someone there dogging….

  9. k rawson says:

    That’s great–smart and authentic and I love the wisdom.

  10. Sightsnbytes says:

    nothing beats loneliness. Good story…I had to google ‘Dogging’ as well.

  11. mjlstories says:

    You are educating the world to the British way of life – I’m referring of course to duffle coats and rozzers of course in the video. Hilarious!

  12. There’s a very sad person. Still, whatever makes him happy.

  13. Dale says:

    The things I learn participating in Friday Fictioneers! What a hoot!

  14. plaridel says:

    what’s a friend for? he should go and find a match for johnny. 🙂

  15. Well, you learning something new every day! Thanks, Mick. (PLUS you made me smile.)

  16. ansumani says:

    LOL -What desperation! Hope he finds his doggy-mate.

  17. I think we call it parking here. It sounds a little gentler but I think, usually teenagers, are doing the same thing.

  18. Ridiculous and I’m still laughing at the video.

  19. I think it takes more than a place with hourly rates.

  20. Unique response to the prompt :-). Fun!

  21. Graham Lawrence says:

    I have no idea (yet) what doing is but I enjoyed the story!

  22. I need to google dogging. But he seems rather desperate.

  23. Dear Mick,

    Now that’s desperation. Not much hope for him.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

  24. Sandra says:

    I was grinning even from the moment I saw your link-up. Perfect take on the prompt. I hope he’ll find what he’s looking for.

  25. There has to be a better way to meet someone!

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

