Camouflage

30Oct2015

Rochelle’s weekly one hundred word flash fiction challenge, prompted by the picture:

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

It took millions of years but eventually the perfect swamp super-carnivore evolved: stealthy, quick as lightning, absolutely vicious, instant kill and near instant devour, short gestation and uncomplicated breeding pattern. But most of all, what made it so terrible, invoked so much fear and folk-lore, was it’s incredible camouflage: no-one ever saw the Secretary Chair Snake, until it was too late. (61)

PHOTO PROMPT – © Dale Rogerson

 

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in fiction, humour, joke, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Camouflage

  1. I think I have met the unevolved ancestors…almost as dangerous.

  2. Hilarious, Mick. That twist at the end had me laughing out loud. Well done. 😀 — Suzanne

  3. Margaret says:

    Fun story. I’ll stay away from swamps, and secretary chair snakes.

  4. rgayer55 says:

    What a great disguise. Maybe I should wear a chair to the Halloween party tonight.

  5. I suppose Hollywood special effects creator must have been behind this. Nice twist on the story.

  6. LOL. You have to look out for those Secretary Chair Snakes. Very deadly. 🙂

  7. Sightsnbytes says:

    I know a few people I wouldn’t mind sitting in the ‘Secretary Chair’. Good piece, gave me a laugh!

  8. paulmclem says:

    Short, but fun.

  9. gahlearner says:

    Now I know why my back is aching: secretary chair snake is attacking. What a fun story.

  10. What a delightful little snippet.

  11. This is delightful. Thanks for an early morning snicker.

  12. Dale says:

    Short and “sweet” if a Secretary Snake Chair could be considered sweet…

    • micklively says:

      Well the idea was that, at some future time, there would be so many secretary’s chairs in the water, that evolution of imitation would be a viable camouflage strategy. I guess this attitude might be considered rather sarcastic.
      Many thanks for your feedback Dale, oh and thanks for a cracking prompt photo too.

      • Dale says:

        I loved the idea.
        And so glad you liked the photo!

        • micklively says:

          I did. It’s so strange. If you asked me to predict which picture would prompt me to write, I wouldn’t have a clue. At first glance, I wasn’t sure about your chair in the water, but I’ve written three already and barely broken sweat.

          • Dale says:

            Goes to show! I took the picture, thought of FF and when the time came to write something, I had a momentary blank moment!

  13. yarnspinnerr says:

    I am sure one would be lurking somewhere on this planet ……. immune to all the chemicals.
    Great take.

  14. wildbilbo says:

    You know I recently read that sitting was as bad for you as smoking…now I understand what they meant!
    KT

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

