Squawk

Plymouth Rock

Rochelle sets us a one hundred word, flash fiction challenge, prompted by a photo, each week.  Why not give it a try?

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/

I’m on the left and I’m laughing hard, uncontrollably, at the seagulls, as they circle the cliff. Their every swoop and squawk makes me laugh more. The man sat to the right of me isn’t laughing. He has a face like thunder. I don’t think he likes seagulls much.
Our deck chairs face the cliff, pink house and sailing boat. The sun is setting behind us, throwing our shadows at the cliff.
I need to visit the house. But when I get back, I’m on the right, and the man is laughing. Is my face like thunder? (97)

PHOTO PROMPT © Sandra Crook

get the InLinkz code

About micklively

Fifty-something, pacifist, six sigma black belt, lean implementer, brewer, vintner, guitarist, wood-turner, and slave to collies.
This entry was posted in dream, fiction, Sea, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Squawk

  1. I was also confused until I read your comment that this was from a dream. Good story, but you’re right, dreams don’t have to make sense. Mine often don’t as they’re a mishmash of experiences I’ve had. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

  2. Susan says:

    Sorry Mick, but I was confused by your story. Maybe you needed more than 100 words to make it clearer or maybe I just don’t get it.

    • micklively says:

      One of my colleagues told me of a dream she had. I just transposed it to match the picture prompt. Like most dreams, it doesn’t make much sense.
      Many thanks for your feedback Susan.

  3. I’m not quite sure I’m understanding this one. Did the man take the speaker’s chair?

  4. Bizarre. There’s something really interesting here but I can’t find it.
    Prolific this time?

  5. gahlearner says:

    Squawk? Time travel? Do you know Stanislaw Lem? This reminds me of one of Ijon Tichy’s adventures.

  6. Sandra says:

    I don’t think I’m getting it. But I don’t like people pinching my place so I would say “Yes” – my face would be like thunder.

  7. I guess the sum has to be constant…

  8. Solothefirst says:

    Clever take on the prompt

  9. Dear Mick,

    Interesting turn of events.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

I will be pleased to read your thoughts, even if you don't agree.

